Second Round of Granola:
July 2, 2010, 12:55 pm
Filed under: Cooking | Tags: , , ,

I told you back in May how I wanted to try Orangette’s French Chocolate Granola and I finally did this weekend. I changed two things from her orginal recipe. I used walnuts in mine and instead of honey I used brown rice syrup. I think I might have found something that is impossible for me to mess up (fingers crossed).

Here is the recipe, it’s quite amazing:

3 cups rolled oats
½ cup walnuts, chopped
½ cup unsweetened shredded coconut
2 Tbsp. granulated sugar
Pinch of salt
6 Tbsp. brown rice syrup
2 Tbsp. vegetable oil
½ cup, or more, finely chopped bittersweet chocolate

Preheat the oven to 300°F.

Combine the oats, walnuts, coconut, sugar, and salt, in a large bowl. And stir.

Warm the syrup and oil over low heat, in a small saucepan and whisking occasionally. Pour over the dry ingredients, and stir to combine well.

Spread the mixture evenly on a baking sheet. Bake for about 20 minutes. Set a timer to go off halfway through and stir the granola. After it’s done, take it out and stir well again.

And cool completely. I lack patience’s, the granola was cool but the pan I guess wasn’t so when I added the chocolate it was fine until I mixed it and the chocolate started melting. So I put it in the refrigerator, however I found that it made it taste way better because there was pieces of chocolate and melted chocolate that covered some of the oats.

When it’s actually cool and you have added the chocolate place the granola in an airtight container.

Now seriously, what are you waiting for? Go make it, like right now!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

