Anniversary Present #2
May 28, 2010, 5:28 am
Filed under: Projects | Tags: , , ,

This is the present that I’m most proud of, maybe because it cost me close to 50 dollars to get it perfect, maybe because I came up with it by myself (mostly), maybe because it took three different methods to find the right way to do it, but it’s probably because I think it looks super awesome finished.

Like I said I mostly came up with the idea myself, at Grimey’s (local favorite music store) they have record dividers that have letters, bands and genres painted on actual vinyl, then they are glued inside the cover with about 3 inches on the record hanging out. At Grimey’s the records are placed vertical and Caleb’s go the other way. (Sorry I’m really doing a horrible job at describing them and I can’t find a picture on Flickr.)

So my idea was to not glue them and place them the other direction without the cover. (They look better out of the cover and it saves space.)

I tried actually painting the letters- that didn’t work, since the vinyl doesn’t absorb the paint.

Tried using a paint pen- didn’t work because it went everywhere!

And finally tried using a sliver metallic Sharpie- it worked but if you didn’t write in the right direction it would go everywhere.

It took a lot of time, but was so much fun to do.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

pretty cool!

Comment by Mom

Wow, that is such a cool idea! And it really looks great! You did a fantastic job with the lettering.

Comment by Sarah

thanks sarah! i actually attempted to make the snickerdoodles you had posted on your blog. they didn’t turn out to be that great thanks to some bad flour but i hope to try again soon!

Comment by savannahmoulton




Leave a Reply

