First Creation!
May 12, 2010, 10:04 am
Filed under: Cooking | Tags: , , , ,

As you should know by now, I am a terrible cook. Ok maybe not terrible, just not great. Maybe it’s that I hate the clean up afterward, or just hate cooking, or the fact that Caleb’s kitchen is pretty awful (the big burner doesn’t work and there is a 75 degree difference between what you set the oven for and what it actually heats to) or the fact that he has one pot and one pan, but maybe if I can learn to cook under these circumstances I can cook anywhere, right?  I honestly think that it’s because I hate following recipes (patterns, instructions, norms of society, etc). So last night I went out on a limb and combined two recipes and tweaked them a little. Please understand that I by no means think that this makes me a cooking god, I’m pretty sure a 5-year-old could have come up with this and made it without help. But I have to start somewhere.

I love pasta, of any shape and kind. I have never tried any that I haven’t loved. Spaghetti and Meatballs will always be my favorite but a close second is Vodka Sauce Pasta. Caleb’s mom, Denise introduced it to me about 3 years and I have been in love ever since , so much that when I was in Africa it was the one thing that I craved. I have made Denise’s recipe several times and it always comes out pretty good but she uses homemade tomato sauce, so there really is no comparison. So this was my first recipe.
The second was something I tried cooking two weeks ago, Linguine with Vodka and Herb Sauce. It’s full of garlic, onions, thyme, basil, and tarragon. However I still didn’t like it, something was missing and it was the tomato sauce.

So I decided that I was going to try a combination of the two and that’s exactly what I did last night. I don’t have a name for it but here is what I did.

  • penne pasta (any kind really)
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 1/2 large onion, chopped
  • 2 teaspoons minced garlic
  • 1 teaspoons dried thyme
  • 1 tablespoon dried tarragon
  • 1 teaspoon dried basil
  • 1 cup heavy cream
  • 1/2 cup vodka
  • tomato sauce (I just used a normal size)
  • grated Parmesan cheese (mozzarella would be good too)

Melt butter in a large skillet over medium heat. Add onion and saute for about 5 minutes. Add garlic and saute another 5 minutes. Add herbs and saute for 1 minute.

Add vodka and simmer 2 minutes.Add tomato sauce and cream, stir continuously for 5 – 8 minutes.

Meanwhile cook the pasta, drain and put into a bowl.

Pour the sauce over top of the pasta and toss with the parmesan cheese.

That’s it! Super easy!

I realized after cooking that most homemade tomato sauces have garlic, onions, and basil so basically I came up with the genius idea to add thyme and tarragon. I haven’t been able to find a tomato sauce recipe that is cheap, healthy, and makes a large portion.

What’s really great about vodka sauce is, in my opinion, it’s pretty impossible to mess up and you can add a lot to it and do so much with it. Next time I’m thinking bow-tie pasta and sausage. Maybe even homemade sauce.

I even had some sauce left-over, that I poured into a glass jar and put into the freezer.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

It was delicious!

Comment by Caleb

YES!!!! That is the way to do it…
Sounds super good.

Comment by Angie




Leave a Reply

