Two Projects in One!
May 1, 2010, 10:53 pm
Filed under: Projects | Tags: , , ,

I told you I had big plans for this glass jar. For several weeks now I have been planning on making laundry soap, picking up a few things here and there but I needed the perfect jar.

Once I found it, I knew I wanted to try something new, I just didn’t know what that was. Googled a couple of things and finally decided on an idea.

Frosted Glass.

It’s super easy.

  • Apply stickers.

  • Cover everything that you don’t want frosted.

  • Spray two coats, this is what I used.
  • Let dry, literally takes 10 minutes.
  • Peel off.
  • And done!

I even sponge painted the lid two different shades of blue. I think the frosted look turned out really neat and has a clean look about it.

The second part of this project was actually making the laundry soap. Another reason I have been putting it off on making this is because Caleb really loves his Tide and wasn’t too excited about giving it up. I gave him my three-fold reasons; cheaper, better for the environment, and tried to express how much joy it would bring me to actually make it, so he said he would at least try it.

It really is so cheap and way too easy.

  • 1/2 cup washing soda
  • 1/2 cup borax
  • 1 grated bar of fels naptha

(I doubled all the ingredients, since my jar is huge)

I had some issues with grating the soap, it took me about 45 minutes to barely get anything. Caleb then pointed out that I was using the wrong side of the grater.

After that all you do is mix the ingredients together and store in an airtight container.

I was a little nervous using it for the first time, so I gave it a test run using Ethan’s towels.

Works great and smells amazing! (Even Caleb thought so.)

I have never been so excited about washing clothes! Now if I coult just make something to fold and put them away for me…

7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Oh my gosh, laughing so hard about the grater. Love the jar.

Comment by Emma

sorry, that was me.

Comment by Angie

you have no idea- i was yelling and cussing walmart for making sure a horrible grater.

Comment by savannahmoulton

you hush it! i have never used one before.

Comment by savannahmoulton

I LOVE THE JAR!!! Too funny about the grater . . not surprising though 🙂

Comment by Mom

That jar is SUPER CUTE! I love it.

Comment by Denise Palma

thank you! thank you!

Comment by savannahmoulton




Leave a Reply

