Green Thumb- Maybe?
March 28, 2010, 3:40 pm
Filed under: Gardening | Tags: , , ,

I decided to try something new this year and try growing a couple herbs inside. I am by no means a plant person, I can’t keep anything alive for the life of me. I have always loved the idea of growing herbs in the kitchen, maybe because it seemed like less work than having a garden. But I also love the idea of having your own herbs, partly because whenever I do cook I always need at least one and their so expensive at the store and because I think it would be super fun to dry them out and keep them in glass jars.

I originally started out with a list of 12 herbs that I wanted to grow. I knew I couldn’t do that many my first time so I narrowed the list to 5.

basil
chives
rosemary
lavender
cilantro

I got everything I needs; dirt, seeds and pots. I even decided to paint the pots. I had everything ready to go but let them sit there for about a week before I got up the courage to do it (and also got up the courage to wash the dishes from a week and a half ago). I always hear and read about people who find gardening relaxing and love it so much, I really had my doubts about it, I figured I would think it was just ok and nothing special. I was totally wrong. I absoultely loved it, I loved getting my hands dirty, I loved how quiet everything was around me, I even stared at the tiny seeds in amazment that they would one day (hopefully) grow into something. I think the only thing that could have been better was if I was outside, maybe I would actually like to have a garden one day.

After I was done I realized that I have somethings working againist me.

1. We don’t have that “perfect” spot where we get a lot of sun.

2. The ledge in the kitchen leds back.

3. I still have no clue what I’m doing.

This whole thing isn’t me at all, which maybe why I love it. I want to know what I’m doing, if I don’t then I want help and I want to know it’s going to work.

And I did it totally alone with no help, so it makes me feel like it’s all my own. I’m excited to see what happens and if they don’t grow (totally counting on them not), then I’ll try again.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Well, your pots are SUPER CUTE no matter what. 🙂 You’re going to love watching them grow.

Comment by Denise Palma

The pots are adorable.

Comment by Emma

That was me, not Emma.

Comment by Angie

Thank you. Thank you.

I was about to ask why was she up so late. I know she’s not up watching Cheaters like me. lol

Comment by savannahmoulton




Leave a Reply

