AH! I DID IT!
March 20, 2010, 12:42 am
Filed under: Sewing | Tags: , , , , ,

I made my very first skirt! I have been putting this off for weeks now. I decided at the beginning of the year that I wanted to learn how to make skirts, lots and lots of skirts. I found this tutorial on one of my new favorite blogs Freshly Picked. It seemed fairly easy and super cute!

So this is my first attempt at it-

That’s all you need- for my fabric I used a vintage sheet that I got from Goodwill for 2 dollars!

This was the part that I was most scared about, as it turns out it was actually easy. All you do is gather and pin and then when your sewing you pull the elastic so the fabric lays flat.

Finished project! (yes I am standing on the toilet)

Even has pockets!

I love how the vintage sheet fell and felt- like it has already been worn in.

I’m planning on making another one soon or at least taking the elastic out of this one and fixing it a little more. See you can’t tell but its kinda uneven on the top and I sewed the elastic the wrong way AND I didn’t gather enough in some places so in other places the skirt folds over. But hey it’s my first skirt!

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Nice job. I love the print.

Comment by Angie

Great job! So cute.

Comment by Denise Palma

Thank you!

Comment by savannahmoulton

oh and Ang I can probably make about five more skirts out of that fabric- we should totally all have matching ones!

Comment by savannahmoulton




Leave a Reply

