The Red Scarf Project
February 4, 2010, 8:57 pm
Filed under: Projects | Tags: ,

I stumbled upon Craft Hope back in early January just as they were beginning a new project. For this project, Craft Hope teamed up with the Orphan Foundation of America. This organization serves thousands of foster teens in the U.S. They provide college scholarships, connect them with mentors and internships, send them care packages, and testify for them before Congress. They started the Red Scarf Project in 2005 to send red scarves to warm the hearts (and necks) of college bound youth. They began taking donations to put into their Valentines Day packages. The first year the project collected 3,500 scarves and then in the second year it jumped to over 15,000!

The project totally won me over and it worked out perfectly for me cause I had just started a red scarf two months before and didn’t have a clue of what to do with it.

So I immediately began knitting away, nothing too special just plain ole’ knit stitch but I was determined to finish it. I even got quite a few stares at school when I would pull it out of my backpack every chance I got.

I finished it last weekend.

And mailed it earlier this week.

I can’t wait to see what the next project will be, hopefully it’s something I know how to do or something I can teach myself how to do.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

