Cooking…sigh
February 3, 2010, 9:48 pm
Filed under: Cooking | Tags: , , ,

Cooking is one of my least favorite things to do in the world, which is a bad combination considering one of my favorite things to do is eat.

I haven’t totally given up on my ability to cook, I still give it ago every once in a while. When I do get the desire to cook, we normally take advantage of it.

One of our favorite things to cook is one of Angie’s recipes, a chicken and rice casserole – clearly it’s a winner.

I gave Caleb lots of exciting news this afternoon: 1. I wanted to cook, 2. I wanted to cook chicken and rice, and 3. I was paying. (three things he doesn’t hear come out of my mouth very often)

So we went to Kroger, at the wrong time apparently, as everyone was out of school – it was packed! Found everything we needed , even though it killed me to buy Tyson chicken (watch Food Inc), I bought it anyways and of course made the vow, “When were blah blah blah I’m never shopping at Kroger and blah blah blah getting all my food from the Farmers Market.”

I don’t think that I actually hate cooking, I think it’s a mix of two things, I think I like the idea of cooking and that I hate what I turn into when I’m cooking. I get totally stressed out, running around the kitchen, literally like a crazy person and terrified of messing something up. This time was no different. But I did manage to take some pictures of my cooking experience.

Caleb got a rice cooker for Christmas (thank goodness). Rice is our favorite, however we always mess it up. This thing is amazing! Pour rice in, pour seasoning in, pour in water, close lid, turn on, and that’s it!

Then on to the worst part- washing and cutting the chicken.

The only thing that grosses me out more is buggers.

Now it’s getting fun!

I love love love chopping onions.

Everything mixed together does not look so good.

Parmesan cheese and almonds on top!

All of the craziness and stressing out really did pay off because it tasted amazing!

Yum!!

However later tonight we ended up going to gross Chili’s and eating again- wrong wrong wrong- on so many levels.

I would also like to take this time to introduce you to my new best friend:

I could go on and on for hours about how this is the most amazing kitchen appliance in the world. To truly understand my love for this machine you need to know something about me first – I hate kitchen appliances and I hate having things just for the sake of having them. I’m not the kind of girl who will register for the 200 dollar Kitchen Aid mixer or register for fancy china or the kind of girl who will register for anything for that matter. I don’t want a lot of crap, and I one point I thought this thing would be something that never gets used and takes up space. I can’t imagine not having it! Did you know it cooks soups too??

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

